Locomotive Emissions Monitoring Program

The Locomotive Emissions Monitoring Program (LEM) data filing for 2012 has been completed in accordance with the terms of the 2011-2015 Memorandum of Understanding (2011 – 2015 MOU) signed on April 30, 2013, between the Railway Association of Canada (RAC) and Transport Canada (TC) concerning the emissions of greenhouse gases (GHG) and criteria air contaminants (CAC) from locomotives operating in Canada. This is the first report prepared under the 2011-2015 MOU.

2011-2015 MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING BETWEEN TRANSPORT CANADA AND THE RAILWAY ASSOCIATION OF CANADA FOR REDUCING LOCOMOTIVE EMISSIONS
To download the document, click here.

Click here for the LEM 2011-2015 Action Plan for Reducing GHG Emissions.

Additional links:

Overview of the Rail Trends Methodology
Estimation of the 2011 CAC Emission Factors and Total Emissions by the Canadian Locomotive Fleet
Emission data for years 1990-2012 (Tables)
Traffic, fuel consumption and emissions data in US units (Tables)


Locomotive Emissions Monitoring Program 2012

To download the report, click here (PDF 944 KB).



Locomotive Emissions Monitoring Program 2011

To download the report, click here.



Locomotive Emissions Monitoring Program 2010

To download the report, click here. (pdf 2 MB)


Locomotive Emissions Monitoring Program 2009
To download the report, click here. (pdf 2 MB)

LEM Program 2008
To download the LEM Program Report, click here. (pdf 2.1MB)






For more information related to this initiative, please contact:


Michael Gullo
Director, Policy, Economic and Environmental Affairs
Policy Development & Economic Research
(613) 564-8103

LEM MOU Committees:

MOU Management Committee Members

Ellen Burack (Chair), TC: ellen.burack@tc.gc.ca
Bruno Riendeau, VIA Rail: Bruno_Riendeau@viarail.ca
Normand Pellerin, CN: normand.pellerin@cn.ca
Mike Lowenger, RAC: MikeL@railcan.ca
Steve McCauley, EC: Steve.Mccauley@ec.gc.ca
Bob Oliver, Pollution Probe : boliver@pollutionprobe.org


Technical Review Committee Members

Diane McLaughlin, TC: diane.mclaughlin@tc.gc.ca
Ursula Green, TC: ursula.green@tc.gc.ca
Stephanie Roller, TC: stephanie.roller@tc.gc.ca
Michael Gullo, RAC: MichaelG@railcan.ca
Enrique Rosales, RAC: EnriqueR@railcan.ca
Ken Roberge (Chair), CP: Ken_Roberge@cpr.ca
Erika Akkerman, CN: erika.akkerman@cn.ca
Bob Mackenzie, GO Transit: Bob.Mackenzie@gotransit.com
Derek May, Pollution Probe : DMay@pollutionprobe.org
Singh Biln, SRY Rail Link: sbiln@sryraillink.com
Louis Machado, AMT: lmachado@amt.qc.ca
Richard Holt, EC: Richard.Holt@ec.gc.ca

Click here to read more about the steps needed to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from freight transportation among Canada, Mexico and the United States.



©2014 The Railway Association of Canada. All rights reserved.

Rail Trends

The Railway Association of Canada's Rail Trends provides a ten-year composite of financial and operating statistics for a comprehensive review of the business of transporting goods and people by rail in Canada. This review covers virtually all interveners of rail - the Class 1s, regional freight companies, short lines, intercity passenger, commuter and tourist train... MORE >