Marchandises dangereuses

Équipe Marchandises dangereuses de l'ACFC

L’une des principales activités de l’ACFC consiste à promouvoir la manutention sécuritaire des marchandises dangereuses. Elle doit donc s’assurer que les wagons qui transportent des marchandises dangereuses satisfont à des normes strictes, que les envois sont correctement emballés, étiquetés et documentés et que les transporteurs manœuvrent les wagons avec précaution.

Les produits chimiques et pétroliers qui sont essentiels à notre qualité de vie — depuis le chlore qui purifie notre eau jusqu’au combustible qui sert à chauffer nos maisons et à propulser nos véhicules — représentent environ 12 % de tout le trafic acheminé par rail au Canada. Le rail est le mode de transport le plus sûr pour ces produits. En fait, 99,998 % du temps, les expéditions de marchandises dangereuses arrivent à destination sans fuite causée par un accident.

Depuis sa création en 1999, l’équipe des marchandises dangereuses (MD) de l’ACFC vient en aide à ses membres relativement aux enjeux et aux défis associés au transport des marchandises dangereuses sur les 61 000 kilomètres de voie ferrée au Canada.

Le rôle de l’équipe est de servir les membres de l’ACFC et les expéditeurs en faisant la promotion du transport sécuritaire des marchandises dangereuses, en informant le personnel des compagnies ferroviaires et des expéditeurs des pratiques sûres et en s’assurant que les règlements sont appliqués.

Formation et sensibilisation

Les spécialistes du transport des marchandises dangereuses de l’ACFC offrent des séances d’information, des services de soutien et des conseils à l’intention de ses membres, des expéditeurs et du public. Ils diffusent de l’information sur la réglementation, la préparation des documents d’expédition, le conditionnement des produits et le chargement et le déchargement sécuritaires des wagons et autres conteneurs. Ils jouent aussi un rôle actif dans la sensibilisation des collectivités et la préparation aux interventions d’urgence en matière de transport en participant à l’élaboration de trousses de formation sur les marchandises dangereuses adaptées au secteur.

L’équipe travaille en étroite collaboration avec l’Association of American Railroads (AAR), le Transportation Technology Center, Inc., le Bureau of Explosives (BOE) et d’autres comités rassemblant des représentants des chemins de fer et des fabricants de produits chimiques, afin de résoudre des questions techniques et d’élaborer des normes sectorielles.

Inspections et vérifications

L’équipe MD de l’ACFC procède à des inspections et à des vérifications dans les triages de ses membres pour s’assurer que les wagons et les conteneurs utilisés pour le transport des marchandises dangereuses sont conformes au Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses et aux exigences mécaniques de l’AAR. L’équipe MD aide également les membres de l’ACFC à corriger les anomalies découvertes au cours des inspections et des vérifications.

Les spécialistes effectuent aussi des inspections indépendantes et confidentielles dans des usines pétrolières et chimiques afin d’évaluer la conformité aux normes.

Aide et conseils relatifs aux interventions en cas d’urgence

Compte tenu de leurs connaissances en conception et en construction de wagons-citernes ainsi qu’en évaluation des dommages, les membres de l’équipe MD de l’ACFC offrent leur expertise et leurs conseils aux cheminots appelés à intervenir lors d’incidents mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses.

Ces services comprennent la liaison avec les clients et les entrepreneurs en interventions d’urgence en vue d’obtenir de l’expertise supplémentaire et du matériel spécialisé, au besoin. L’équipe participe également à l’application des plans d’intervention en cas d’urgence. Les membres de l’équipe sont en poste à des endroits stratégiques au Canada (Toronto, Montréal, Edmonton et Saskatoon) et peuvent intervenir jour et nuit, sept jours sur sept.

Partenariat ACFC-TTCI

La création d’une équipe canadienne spécialisée en transport des marchandises dangereuses est une initiative conjointe de l’ACFC et du Transportation Technology Center, Inc., une filiale à but lucratif en propriété exclusive de l’Association of American Railroads.

 

L'équipe Marchandises dangereuses:
M. Andy Ash
Directeur, Marchandises dangereuses (Toronto)

M. Jean-Pierre Couture
Spécialiste, Transport des marchandises dangereuses (Montréal)

M. Curtis Myson
Spécialiste, Transport des marchandises dangereuses (Edmonton)

Formation Transports Marchandises Dangereuses
Cliquez ici (PDF 178 MB)

Tarifs de formation et d'inspection de l'ACFC 2017
Cliquez ici (PDF 276KB)

Taux de l'ACFC pour utilisation CCPX 911 et cout de parrainage
Cliquez ici (PDF 167 KB)

ACFC Guide de sensibilisation aux urgences ferroviaires
Cliquez ici (PDF 4 MB)

Assurer le transport sécuritaire des biens essentiels
Veuillez consulter les services offerts par l'équipe des matières dangereuses en cliquant ici.





©2017 The Railway Association of Canada. All rights reserved.

Émissions des locomotives

La collecte des données du Programme de surveillance des émissions des locomotives (SEL) est réalisée conformément aux dispositions du protocole d’entente de 2011-2015 (PE de 2011-2015), signé le 30 avril 2013, entre l’Association des chemins de fer du Canada (ACFC) et Transports Canada au sujet des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) et des principaux contaminants atmosphériques (PCA) provenant des locomotives...PLUS >

Dangerous Goods

RAC Dangerous Goods Team

One of the primary activities of RAC is to promote the safe handling of dangerous goods. Its aim is to make rail the safest and most efficient mode of transport. This means ensuring rail cars carrying dangerous goods meet strict standards, that consignments are properly packaged, labeled, placarded and documented, and that carriers handle the rail cars safely.

The chemicals and petroleum products that are essential to our quality of life - from purifying the water we drink, to the fuels we use to heat our homes and operate our vehicles - represent approximately 12 per cent of all rail traffic moved in Canada on an unencumbered, private right of way. That's why rail is the safest mode of transportation of dangerous goods. In fact dangerous goods shipments arrive at their destination 99.98 per cent of the time incident free.

Since its inception in 1999, the RAC Dangerous Goods Team has assisted its members with the issues and challenges that come with the transportation of dangerous goods across the 61,000 kilometres of track in Canada.

The RAC team's role is to serve its members and the shipping community by promoting the safe transportation of dangerous goods as well as informing railway and shipper employees of existing safe industry best practices and by ensuring that the regulations are applied consistently.

Education and Awareness

The DG Team specialists provide information sessions, support and guidance to its members, shippers and the public. This includes education in the regulations, proper preparation of shipping papers, packaging selection, the safe loading and unloading of rail cars and other containers. The specialists also play an active role in transportation community awareness and in emergency response preparedness by assisting in the development of industry-based dangerous goods training packages.

The team works closely with the Association of American Railroads (AAR), the Transportation Technology Center, Inc., the Bureau of Explosives and other industry and chemical producer committees in the development of industry standards, associated technical matters and in encouraging their application in Canada.

Inspections and Audits

The RAC DG Team performs audits and inspections at member yards to ensure that the cars and containers that carry dangerous goods comply with the Transportation of Dangerous Goods regulations and AAR (Association of American Railroads) Mechanical requirements. These inspections are confidential and are reviewed prior to departure from the site by the means of a written report.  In addition, the DG Team also assists RAC members in correcting any anomalies discovered during these audits/inspections.

The specialists carry out independent and confidential inspections at Petroleum and Chemical plants for regulatory compliance.

Emergency response advice and assistance

Commensurate with their knowledge of tank car design, construction and damage assessment, RAC DG specialists provide advice and expertise to rail personnel responsible for handling incidents involving dangerous goods.

This includes liaison with customers and emergency response contractors to obtain additional expertise and specialized equipment, as required. They also assist with emergency response plans. The specialists are on-call for emergencies 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

RAC/TTCI Partnership

The creation of a Canadian DG specialist team is a joint initiative of the RAC and the Transportation Technology Center Inc., a wholly owned, for-profit subsidiary of the Association of American Railroads.

Members of the RAC Dangerous Goods Team are located in strategic points in Canada (Toronto, Montreal, Edmonton and Saskatoon).

 

Dangerous Goods Team:
Mr. Andy Ash
Director, Dangerous Goods (Toronto)

Mr. Jean-Pierre Couture
Transportation of Dangerous Goods Specialist - (Montréal)

Mr. Curtis Myson
Transportation of Dangerous Goods Specialist - (Edmonton)

Mr. Gary Bauer
Transportation of Dangerous Goods Specialist - (Saskatoon)


Railroad Tank Cars -
Fast Facts

Railroads in general do not own rail tank cars; the vast majority are owned by leasing companies or rail customers to ship products. Click here for the full factsheet.

MB on BNN
Click here
for video of BNN interview with RAC President and CEO, Michael Bourque.

Railway Emergency Response Course
This 40+ hour course is a must attend by Railway and Industry personnel, First Responders, E/R Contractors, and Regulators. Click here for more details.

2014 RAC Training and Inspection Rates
Please click here for more details.

Learn more about RAC's Dangerous Goods Team offerings. Download "Ensuring the safe transportation
of Essential Goods"

 

©2014 The Railway Association of Canada. All rights reserved.

Locomotive Emissions Monitoring

The Locomotive Emissions Monitoring Program (LEM) data filing is completed in accordance with the terms of the 2011-2015 Memorandum of Understanding (2011 – 2015 MOU) signed on April 30, 2013, between the Railway Association of Canada (RAC) and Transport Canada (TC) concerning the emissions of greenhouse gases (GHG) and criteria air contaminants (CAC) from locomotives operating in Canada. MORE >