Intégration du Réseau de Transport Multimodal

Si l'on songe à 2030, il est raisonnable de prévoir une forte hausse de la demande de services de transport marchandises et voyageurs. Même une faible croissance annuelle, de l'ordre de 1 % à 2 %, aurait un effet annuel composé, qui se solderait par des hausses importantes sur une période de 20 ans. Inévitablement, l'augmentation de la demande donnera lieu à des contraintes de capacité dans le réseau de transport. De plus, l'expansion des infrastructures existantes posera un problème, étant donné la rareté des terrains dans les grands centres urbains canadiens. À ce titre, tous les moyens de transport de marchandises et de voyageurs doivent être utilisés de la manière la plus efficace. Cela permettra d'enregistrer les gains de productivité nécessaires pour maintenir la compétitivité du Canada à l'échelle internationale.

Les gouvernements peuvent collaborer avec le secteur ferroviaire à la création d'une chaîne d'approvisionnement entièrement intégrée pour le réseau de transport de marchandises et de voyageurs. Le secteur ferroviaire reconnaît que chaque moyen de transport comporte un avantage comparatif, dans des circonstances particulières, et doit être utilisé de façon appropriée, dans un système fondé sur le marché, afin d'obtenir les gains d'efficience maximums.

L'objectif d'une approche multimodale des chaînes d'approvisionnement en transport de marchandises et des réseaux de transport de voyageurs est de pouvoir utiliser le mode approprié au transport de biens et de personnes. Par exemple, essentiellement toutes les marchandises destinées au transport maritime nécessitent un transbordement, depuis le rail ou la route. De même, une part importante des marchandises acheminées par train nécessite le recours au transport routier pour atteindre sa destination finale. Pour les voyageurs, le rail devrait être mieux relié à d'autres moyens de transport, aux aéroports, par exemple, et aux réseaux de transport en commun. Les gouvernements doivent investir dans les infrastructures appropriées pour faciliter l'interconnectivité des moyens de transport. Le leadership du gouvernement fédéral dans le développement de la porte continentale et le corridor de commerce de l'Asie-Pacifique est un excellent exemple de mise en œuvre par l'État d'une stratégie, en collaboration avec d'autres ordres du gouvernement et tous les modes de transport, en vue d'accroître la capacité et la fluidité du transport de marchandises. De plus, le service Canada Line, qui relie l'aéroport international de Vancouver aux services de transport situés au centre de Vancouver, est un bon exemple de connectivité dans le transport multimodal de voyageurs. Dans les années à venir, le secteur ferroviaire, en collaboration avec d'autres modes, doit collaborer étroitement avec le gouvernement en vue d'assurer que les investissements publics, qui procurent des avantages au public (c.-à-d. des ouvrages de franchissement étagés et l'amélioration de l'accès aux installations de transbordement), et les réformes des politiques de transport, mènent à des gains d'efficience.

 

 

Contact Média:
Alex Paterson
Coordonateur, Affaires publiques
(613) 564-8111
alexp@railcan.ca


Pour constater la différence que vous pouvez faire en expédiant vos marchandises par rail, nous vous invitons à utiliser le Calculateur d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre de l'ACFC, cliquez ici.


Programme de surveillance des émissions des locomotives

©2017 The Railway Association of Canada. All rights reserved.

Interchange Magazine

Interchange, le magazine trimestriel de l'ACFC, traite des sujets d'importance auquels font face les quelque 50 chemins de fer de marchandises et voyageur canadiens et est un lien important pour les intervenants du secteur dont les fournisseurs, les clients, les associations, les gouvernements, les amis et aliés du rail. Vous êtes invités à consulter la nouvelle facture du magazine... PLUS >

Integration of the Multimodal Transportation System

Looking out to 2030, it is reasonable to predict a significant increase in the demand for freight and passenger transportation services. Even marginal annual growth, in the range of 1 to 2 percent, compounded annually will result in significant increases over a 20 year time period. Increased demand will inevitably result in capacity constraints in the transportation system. Further, expansion of existing infrastructure will be challenged by the scarcity of land in Canada's major urban centers. As such, all modes of freight and passenger transportation must be used in the most efficient manner. This can allow for the productivity gains required to maintain Canada's international competitiveness.

Governments can work with the railway industry in creating a collaborative fully integrated transportation supply chain for freight and integrated passenger transportation system. The rail industry recognizes that each mode of transportation has a comparative advantage in particular circumstances and must be appropriately utilized, within a market based system, to achieve maximum efficiency gains.

The goal of a multi-modal approach to freight transportation supply chains and passenger transportation systems is the ability to use the appropriate mode of transport for movement of goods and people. For example, essentially all oceangoing freight requires a transfer to other modes of transport, namely rail or road. Similarly, a significant portion of rail freight requires the use of road transportation to reach its final destination. For passengers, rail should be better connected to other modes of transportation such as airport and public transit. Governments must invest in appropriate infrastructure to assist in the interconnectivity of the transportation modes. Federal leadership in the development of the Asia Pacific Gateway and Trade Corridor is an excellent example of the federal government leading the implementation of a strategy, in cooperation with other levels of government and all modes of transportation, to increase capacity and fluidity of goods movement. In addition, the Canada Line that links the Vancouver International Airport to transportation services located in central Vancouver is good example of multi-modal passenger connectivity. Going forward, the rail industry, in cooperation with other modes, must work closely with Government to ensure that public investment, where public benefits are realized (i.e. road/rail grade separations and improved access to transload facilities) and reforms to transportation policies lead to efficiency gains.

Reducing Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Freight Transportation in North America

Cross-border cooperation to improve environmental performance of the North American freight system is urgently needed-not just to enhance environmental sustainability, but to safeguard regional economic competitiveness, according to a new report from the Secretariat of the Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC).

The Secretariat of the CEC-a trinational commission established as part of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)-examines environmental matters arising as part of continental trade and makes occasional recommendations to the governments of Canada, Mexico and the United States through the CEC Council of cabinet-level (or equivalent) environmental authorities.

Entitled Destination Sustainability: Reducing Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Freight Transportation in North America, the report which focuses on road and rail transport, finds that while emissions from light-duty vehicles are expected to drop by 12 per cent by 2030, freight truck emissions are projected to increase by 20 per cent.

Backgrounder

 

Media Contact:
Alex Paterson
Communications Specialist
Telephone: (613) 564-8111
alexp@railcan.ca


To see the difference that you can make by shipping your freight with rail, we invite you to use the RAC's Rail Freight Greenhouse Gas Calculator, click here.


Locomotive Emissions Monitoring Program 2011
To learn more about LEM Program, click here.

 

©2014 The Railway Association of Canada. All rights reserved.

Rail Trends

The Railway Association of Canada's Rail Trends provides a ten-year composite of financial and operating statistics for a comprehensive review of the business of transporting goods and people by rail in Canada. This review covers virtually all interveners of rail - the Class 1s, regional freight companies, short lines, intercity passenger, commuter and tourist train... MORE >